MAE Student Department Awards for 2014-2015

MAE is pleased to announce the MAE Student Award recipients for 2014-2015!

Department Excellence Award--Jacobs Ring Ceremony (undergraduate)
Katherine Liu (mechanical engineering)
Renn Darawali (environmental engineering)

MAE Highest Academic Achievement Award (undergraduate)
Joseph Adachi (mechanical engineering)
Alvin Chak (mechanical engineering)
Russell Hoover (aerospace engineering)
Clint Rosser (environmental engineering)

Senior Projects (undergraduate)

ASME Award:
Fluidic Treadmill System sponsored by Dr. Jules Jaffe of the Scripps Institute of Oceanography at UCSD
Team members: Damien M. Blake, Lingjie Kong, Yuling Shen, Yue Teng

Runner-up Departmental Awards:
All Terrain Wheelchair sponsored by Scott Carlson, an UCSD Aerospace Master’s student.
Team members: Esther Chan, Cherng Chu, Toni Cvitanic, and Desiree Robinson

Fruit Fly Wind Tunnel with Panoramic VR Display sponsored by: Dhruv Grover, PhD. and Ralph Greenspan, PhD. at the Kavli Institute for Brain and Mind at UCSD
Team members: Hyun Joo (Harry) Ahn, Emilio Cazares, Melissa Esparza, and Elliott Park

Outstanding MAE Graduate Student:
Krishna Vemuri (advisor: Bandaru)
Andres Cortes (advisor: Martinez)
Vamsi Chalamalla (advisor: Sarkar)

Outstanding TA in MAE:
Michael Frank
Liane Matthes
Daniel Yang

Graduate Student Awards were handed out at the MAE BBQ held on Friday, June 5.

Friday, September 25, 2015